Baldwin, Robert. "Trayvon Martin's Killing 10 Years Ago Changed the Tenor of Democracy." NPR, 26 Feb 2022. https://www.npr.org/2022/02/26/1083233572/trayvon-martin-black-lives-matter.
Crump, Ben. "It's Been Two Years and Black People Still Can't Breathe." The Washington Post, 24 May 2022. ProQuest, https://www.proquest.com/newspapers/been-two-years-black-people-still-cant-breathe/docview/2667961480/se-2?accountid=1205.
Nodjimbadem, Katie. "The Long, Painful History of Police Brutality in the U.S." Smithsonian Magazine, Smithsonian Institution, last updated 29 May 2020, https://www.smithsonianmag.com/smithsonian-institution/long-painful-history-police-brutality-in-the-us-180964098/.
Originally heard on The Morning Edition, Cheryl Thompson discusses police brutality and deadly shootings with Rachel Martin. You can read a full report by NPR here.
In an attempt to preserve the history of Black Lives Matter (BLM) and decenter whiteness in archival spaces, various organizations and professionals have taken up the task of documenting Black history. Below are some examples of Black digital archives and other relevant information.
In the clip above, NPR's Adrian Flores interviews Frances Oliver about the small Black museum/archive she created in the city where Trayvon Martin was murdered. You can also read the report here.
Archive-In. "#blacklivesmatter Web Archive," Archive-It, Internet Archive, Oct 2016, https://archive-it.org/collections/4783. Accessed 17 Nov 2022.
Black Metropolis Research Consortium (BMRC). "Protest in the Archives," BMRC, University of Chicago, https://bmrc.lib.uchicago.edu/resources/protest-archives/. Accessed 17 Nov 2022.
Kaur, Harmeet. "How Black Archives Are Highlighting Overlooked Parts of History and Culture." CNN, 19 Feb 2022, https://www.cnn.com/2022/02/19/us/black-archivists-history-culture-cec.