STOak Time Map : Archival Research

Project director Lora Chan documents the history of the Asian Branch Library in Oakland for its 40th anniversary in 2015. You can find more information about Chinatown's history through the Oakland Chinatown Oral History Project. You can explore a Story Map and oral history interviews on their website. 

Calisphere

• Provides access to more than 2,000 collections from over 300 organizations such as libraries, museums, and historical societies--Check out their intro video. 

Online Archive of California

• Provides public access to more than 250,000 digital images and documents from 200 contributing institutions

California Digital Newspaper Collection

• Contains over 670,000 digitized newspaper issues and over 44,000,000 articles

African American Museum and Library at Oakland

• Includes over 160 collections, both physical and digitized collections, including oral histories, and other items related to the history of Black people in the Bay Area and in Northern California

Oakland Public Library Archival Collections

• Public archive hosted within the OPL, they have a few digitized collections as well as physical collections that you can go see. Check out their A-Z list of topics/subjects that be found within their archive and a full A-Z list of their entire collection. 
• Policing and Mass Incarceration Resource Guide

Writers of the Hella Black Podcast, Delency Parham and Abbas Muntaqim, bring listeners a 12-week series about Oakland History.