It's good to start with multidisciplinary databases to get a broad overview when looking for background information. You can also try JSTOR, though it focuses heavily on the social sciences.
A multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. If you're looking for background info on a topic, here is a great place to start!
Multi-disciplinary reference resource designed for college and academic libraries providing access to over 100,000 articles; 1,000s of illustrations, including photographs, drawings, maps, and flags; and access to Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.
ProQuest gives us access to several academic databases, including books and journal articles. It covers many subjects, including history + political science, literature, and science.
Can't find the book you're looking for? Check the Internet Archive or Link+ to see if your local library has it. You can also check out the databases below for free access to peer-reviewed articles.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Say you're looking for info on Black women and maternal mortality. You could try these searches:
Black women AND medical care; Black women AND obstetrics
What if you're looking for info on implicit bias in medical care? You could try these:
"African Americans" AND "pain treatment"
pediatrics AND "Latino children"; pediatrics AND Spanish-speaker; "pediatricians" AND "Hispanic children"
***we use quotation marks to tell the database we're looking for a phrase, not two independent words***
If your search does not yield results, try synonyms or mix and match your keywords! Sometimes, the databases will suggest similar keywords or subject headings. If you get stuck, email Sarah!