Proxy server credentials can be found here!
A multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. If you're looking for background info on a topic, here is a great place to start!
Includes over 7,500 entries from the Encyclopedia of African American History (1619-1895), African American National Biography, Africana, Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, and Black Women in America. Also features images, source documents and special commentaries.
A dedicated resource that looks into the cultures, traditions, history, and lived experiences of various ethnic groups in the United States.
A multi-disciplinary database that covers over 50 different disciplines/subject areas and contains over 1000 academic journal articles, photographs, editorials, and reviews.
ProQuest gives us access to several academic databases, including books and journal articles. It covers many subjects, including history + political science, literature, and science.
Open Access (OA) is a publishing model and movement to remove traditional barriers to accessing academic information. A large barrier to access is financial. The databases we subscribe to are rather costly (if you're interested in a cost breakdown, ask Sarah!), but OA ensures that anyone can read and interact with academic scholarship.
Misconceptions
There is a misconception that OA journals/articles are less reputable than costly journals. This is untrue as many are published through institutions of higher education and have similar publication procedures as their for-purchase counterparts. However, it is your responsibility as a researcher to ensure your sources and their authors are credible. Continue practicing the skills you've previously learned.
Useful places to start:
DOAB (Directory of Open Access Books)
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
Click on the graphic to enlarge the image.
Search Strategies
We have added 3 journal titles published by Duke University. You can access them while you're on campus:
History of the Present: A Journal of Critical History
Utilizing a reference manager like Zotero will help you stay organized and ensure your articles are all in one place! See below for a short demo!