Proxy server credentials can be found here!
A multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. If you're looking for background info on a topic, here is a great place to start!
Includes over 7,500 entries from the Encyclopedia of African American History (1619-1895), African American National Biography, Africana, Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, and Black Women in America. Also features images, source documents and special commentaries.
Features full text for more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
A multi-disciplinary database that covers over 50 different disciplines/subject areas and contains over 1000 academic journal articles, photographs, editorials, and reviews.
A large database of 100+ items, including dictionary entries, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
ProQuest gives us access to several academic databases, including books and journal articles. It covers many subjects, including history + political science, literature, and science.
Utilizing a reference manager like Zotero will help you stay organized and ensure your articles are all in one place! See below for a short demo!
Click on the graphic to enlarge the image.
Search Strategies
This material is based on original writing by Dawn Stahura at https://crln.acrl.org/index.php/crlnews/article/view/17434/1924
Click on the graphic for a larger image.
To learn more about why citing BIPOC scholars is important, check out the Citational Politics box below.
As you begin to establish your voices as scholars, you'll notice that a good chunk of the literature you're reading is being produced and created by White scholars. Well, where's everyone else?
The lack of BIPOC voices in academic literature results from barriers in academic publishing and beliefs of knowledge-making in academia. Originally discussed in Richard Delgado's 1984 piece, the lack of representation in academic literature is still a huge problem.
One group of people fighting hard to raise awareness and combat this issue is the Cite Black Women Collective. We encourage our community to commit themselves to engaging with their praxis: naming, reading, acknowledging, and integrating the work of Black women into your classrooms, scholarship, and everyday lives. To learn more about their work you can listen to their podcast embedded below.