We use citations to communicate information about our resources with our audience and other researchers. By citing, we're letting the reader know that we're not claiming work that isn't ours. We're also giving them the information they need to locate our sources and to learn more about these ideas should they be interested in learning more.
Citation:
Avoiding Plagiarism - Cite Your Source (n.d.). Retrieved from https://integrity.mit.edu/handbook/citing-your-sources/avoiding-plagiarism-cite-your-source
Turabian is the ~student~ version of The Chicago Manual of Style and aims to simplify some of the quirks of Chicago.
For a deeper dive into Chicago, check out Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL).
Single Author
Note
1. Philippe Girard, Haiti: The Tumultuous History--From Pearl of the Caribbean to Broken Nation (New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2010), 76-77.
Bibliography
Girard, Philippe. Haiti: The Tumultuous History--From Pearl of the Caribbean to Broken Nation. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2010.
Two - Three Authors
Note
1. Edward M. Hallowell and John J. Ratey, ADHD 2.0: New Science and Essential Strategies for Thriving Distraction--From Childhood Through Adulthood (New York: Ballantine Books, 2021), 47.
Bibliography
Hallowell, Edward M. and John J. Ratey. ADHD 2.0: New Science and Essential Strategies for Thriving Distraction--From Childhood Through Adulthood. New York: Ballantine Books, 2021.
Four or More Authors
Note
1. Gabriella Gutiérrez y Muhset al. eds., Presumed Incompetent: The Intersections of Race and Class for Women in Academia (Logan, UT: Utah State University Press, 2020), 5.
Bibliography
Gutiérrez y Muhs, Gabriella, Yolanda Flores Niemann, Carmen G. Gonzalez, and Angela P. Harris. Presumed Incompetent: The Intersections of Race and Class for Women in Academia. Logan, UT: Utah State University Press, 2020.
Translated Book
Note
1. Mariano Azuela, The Underdogs: A Novel of the Mexican Revolution, trans. Sergio Waisman (New York: Penguin Books, 2008), 91-92.
Bibliography
Azuela, Mariano. The Underdogs: A Novel of the Mexican Revolution. Translated by Sergio Waisman. New York: Penguin Books, 2008.
Chapter in an Edited Book or Anthology
Note
1. Karen Ordahl Kupperman, "The Seventeenth Century: Expansion and Consolidation," in The Princeton Companion to Atlantic History, ed. Joseph C. Miller (Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 2014).
Bibliography
Kupperman, Karen Ordahl. "The Seventeenth Century: Expansion and Consolidation." In The Princeton Companion to Atlantic History, ed. Joseph C. Miller, 26-35. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 2014.
Electronic or Online Book
Note
1. Richard J. Samuels, 3.11: Disaster and Change in Japan (Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 2013), 3, https://www.proquest.com/legacydocview/EBC/3138451?accountid=1205.
Bibliography
Samuels, Richard J. 3.11: Disaster and Change in Japan. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 2013. https://www.proquest.com/legacydocview/EBC/3138451?accountid=1205.
Found on Website
Note
1. Morning Chronicle and London Advertiser, "Jamaica Intelligence," August 1, 1788, Caribbean Religious Trials, ed. Diana Paton et al., https://www.caribbeanreligioustrials.org/CaseSource/Details/2295.
2. Médéric-Louis-Elie Moreau de Saint-Méry, "Voodoo," 1797, Liberté, Égalité, Fraternité: Exploring the French Revolution, ed. Jack Censer, and Lynn Hunt, https://revolution.chnm.org/exhibits/show/liberty--equality--fraternity/item/514.
3. "Thoughts and Sentiments on the Evil Slavery: Middle Passage," World History Commons, accessed March 9, 2023, https://worldhistorycommons.org/thoughts-and-sentiments-evil-slavery-middle-passage#doc_transcription.
Bibliography
Moreau de Saint-Méry, Médéric-Louis-Elie. "Voodoo," 1797. Liberté, Égalité, Fraternité: Exploring the French Revolution, ed. Jack Censer, and Lynn Hunt, https://revolution.chnm.org/exhibits/show/liberty--equality--fraternity/item/514.
Morning Chronicle and London Advertiser. "Jamaica Intelligence," August 1, 1788. Caribbean Religious Trials, ed. Diana Paton Gemma Romain, Maarit Forde, Jennifer Kain, Helen McKee, and Suzie Thomas. https://www.caribbeanreligioustrials.org/CaseSource/Details/2295.
World History Commons. "Thoughts and Sentiments on the Evil Slavery: Middle Passage." Accessed March 9, 2023. https://worldhistorycommons.org/thoughts-and-sentiments-evil-slavery-middle-passage#doc_transcription.
Letter
Note
1. Hannah Storer Green to Abigail Smith, 1763-1764, Founders Online, National Archives, https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Adams/04-01-02-0011.
2. George Thompson to Blodwen Davies, April 23, 1934, Canadian Mysteries, Library and Archives Canada/Bibliotheque et Archives Canada, https://www.canadianmysteries.ca/sites/thomson/investigations/1933-1949/4983en.html.
Bibliography
Green, Hannah Storer to Abigail Smith, 1763-1764. Founders Online. National Archives. https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Adams/04-01-02-0011.
Thompson, George to Blodwen Davies, April 23, 1934. Canadian Mysteries. Library and Archives Canada/Bibliotheque et Archives Canada. https://www.canadianmysteries.ca/sites/thomson/investigations/1933-1949/4983en.html.
Political Cartoons
Note
Benjamin Franklin, "Join or Die," illustration, The Pennsylvania Gazette, May 9, 1754, from Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog, https://loc.gov/pictures/item/2002695523/.
Bibliography
Franklin, Benjamin. "Join or Die." Illustration. The Pennsylvania Gazette, May 9, 1754. From Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog. https://loc.gov/pictures/item/2002695523/.
Remember to properly format your bibliography! It must be in alphabetical format with a hanging indent, as seen in the graphic above!
Single Author
Note
1. Gloria Ladson-Billings, "Pushing Past the Achievement Gap: An Essay on the Language of Deficit," in "Celebrating the Legacy of 'The Journal': 75 Years of Facilitating Excellence in Black Education," special issue, Journal of Negro Education 76, no. 3 (Summer 2007): 319, https://www.jstor.org/stable/40034574.
2. Gloria Ladson-Billings, "Toward a Theory of Culturally Relevant Pedagogy," American Educational Research Association 32, no. 3 (Autumn 1995): 468, https://www.jstor.org/stable/1163320.
Bibliography
Ladson-Billings, Gloria. "Toward a Theory of Culturally Relevant Pedagogy." American Educational Research Association 32, no. 3 (Autumn 1995): 465-491.
Ladson-Billings, Gloria. "Pushing Past the Achievement Gap: An Essay on the Language of Deficit." In "Celebrating the Legacy of 'The Journal': 75 Years of Facilitating Excellence in Black Education." Special issue, Journal of Negro Education 76, no. 3 (Summer 2007): 316-323. https://www.jstor.org/stable/40034574.
Two - Three Authors
Note
1. Jin Soo Chung and Delia Neuman, "High School Students' Information Seeking and Use for Class Projects," Journal of the American Society for Information Science and Technology 58, no. 10 (June 2007): 1505, https://doi.org/10.1002/asi.20637.
2. Moira Cachia, Siobhan Lyman, and Rosemary Stock, "Academic Success: Is It Just About the Grades?" Higher Education Pedagogies 3, no. 1 (October 2018): 435, https://doi.org/10.1080/23752696.2018.1462096.
Bibliography
Cachia, Moira, Siobhan Lyman, and Rosemary Stock. "Academic Success: Is It Just About the Grades?" Higher Education Pedagogies 3, no.1 (October 2018): 434-439. https://doi.org/10.1080/23752696.2018.1462096.
Chung, Jin Soo, and Delia Neuman. "High School Students' Information Seeking and Use for Class Projects." Journal of the American Society for Information Science and Technology 58, no. 10 (June 2007): 1503-1517. https://doi.org/10.1002/asi.20637.
Four or More Authors
Note
1. Daegon Cho, et al., "Television Singing Competitions Create Stars? Empirical Evidence from the Digital Music Chart in South Korea," Journal of Cultural Economics 43, no. 1 (March 2019): 15, https://doi.org/10.1007/s10824-018-9327-3.
2. Lorena M. Salto, et al., "Underrepresented Minority High School and College Students Report STEM-Pipeline Sustaining Gains After Participating in the Loma Linda University Summer Health Disparities Research Program," PLoS ONE 9, no. 9 (September 2014), https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0108497.
Bibliography
Cho, Daegon, Seok Ho Lee, Yeawon Yoo, and Hyo-Youn Chu. "Television Singing Competitions Create Stars? Empirical Evidence from the Digital Music Chart in South Korea." Journal of Cultural Economics 43, no. 1 (March 2019): 1-20, https://doi.org/10.1007/s10824-018-9327-3.
Salto, Lorena M., Matt L. Riggs, Daisy Delgado De Leon, Carlos A. Cassiano, and Marino De Leon. "Underrepresented Minority High School and College Students Report STEM-Pipeline Sustaining Gains After Participating in the Loma Linda University Summer Health Disparities Research Program." PLoS ONE 9, no. 9 (September 2014), https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0108497.
Publications of International Bodies
Note
1. League of Arab States and United Nations, The Third Arab Report on the Millennium Development Goals 2010 and the Impact of the Global Economic Crises (Beirut: Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia, 2010), 82
Bibliography
United Nations Security Council. Resolution 2222, Protection of Civilians in Armed Conflict. S/RES/2222. New York: UN, May 27, 2015. http://www.un.org/en/sc/documents/resolutions/2015.shtml.
Website Content Without Author
Note
1. "Thoughts and Sentiments on the Evil Slavery: Middle Passage," World History Commons, accessed March 9, 2023, https://worldhistorycommons.org/thoughts-and-sentiments-evil-slavery-middle-passage#doc_transcription.
Bibliography
World History Commons. "Thoughts and Sentiments on the Evil Slavery: Middle Passage." Accessed March 9, 2023. https://worldhistorycommons.org/thoughts-and-sentiments-evil-slavery-middle-passage#doc_transcription.
Website Content With Author
Note
1. Kate Marijolovic, "What Does a Healthy Campus Actually Look Like? A New Study Offers Ideas," Chronicle of Higher Education, March 13, 2023, https://www.chronicle.com/article/what-does-a-healthy-campus-actually-look-like-a-new-study-offers-ideas.
Bibliography
Marijolovic, Kate. "What Does a Healthy Campus Actually Look Like? A New Study Offers Ideas." Chronicle of Higher Education. March 13, 2023. https://www.chronicle.com/article/what-does-a-healthy-campus-actually-look-like-a-new-study-offers-ideas.